A Greater Madison Vision is an initiative guided by leaders from business, government and community organizations. The Capital Area Regional Planning Commission (CARPC) leads the project and provides support to the initiative.

In 2016 the project focused on capacity building, assembling a diverse steering committee, investigating and analyzing methods to gather meaningful input from the public on their priorities for a growing region. Preliminary research produced a regional baseline assessment .

In the second year we focused on direct outreach, education and engagement with organizations and communities, sharing information and gathering feedback on the key concerns people had about the impact of future growth on the region.

By 2018 the group began promoting the need for broad public input and finalized content for an innovative, online survey which launched in September 2018 and stayed live for two months. The ten-minute survey asked Dane County residents and visitors to rank their priorities for growth.

This year the project focused on sharing the survey results and analyzing the public’s priorities in preparation of the regional development plan that will guide us for the next 25 years.

In 2020 Steering Committee members and supporters plan to promote policies and investments to implement Greater Madison Vision goals.


Asterisks indicate Executive Committee Members

Godwin Amegashie* Consultant
Ruben Anthony Urban League Greater Madison
Juli Aulik University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics Authority
Zach Brandon Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
Dave Branson Building and Construction Trades Council of SC WI
Gurdip Brar Mayor, City of Middleton
Dan Brown Ho-Chunk Gaming
Frank Byrne* St. Mary’s Hospital
Justice Castañeda* Common Wealth Development
Sharon Corrigan* Dane County Board of Supervisors
Drake Daily City of Sun Prairie
Jack Daniels Madison College
Joe Daguanno Adams Outdoor Advertising
Chris Ehlers Veridian Homes
Paul Esser Mayor, City of Sun Prairie
Cheryl Fahrner Columbia County Economic Development Commission
Paulette Glunn Northwest Dane Senior Services, Inc.
Kari Grasee* American Family Insurance
James Hegenbarth Park Bank
John Imes Wisconsin Environmental Initiative
Paul Jadin* MadREP
Sharyl Kato* The Rainbow Project
Jenni Le gBETA
Sabrina Madison* Heymiss Progress
Mariam Maldonado Luna’s Grocery
Sarita Mannigel* Latino Chamber of Commerce
Ezra Meyer Clean Wisconsin
Deb Nemeth 1000 Friends of Wisconsin
Kwasi Obeng City of Madison Common Council
Leslie Orrantia Wisconsin Collaborative Education Research Network
Mark Opitz Madison Area Transportation Planning Board
Kevin Oppermann Highland Spring Farm
Larry Palm* CARPC
Harold Rayford African American Council of Churches
Keith Reopelle Dane County Office of Energy and Climate Change
Carl Ruedebusch Ruedebusch Development & Construction, Inc.
Sue Springman Village of Waunakee and The Mullins Group
David Stark Stark Company Realtors
Steve Staton* Village of Oregon
Andrew Statz Madison Metropolitan School District
Nia Trammell Urban League of Greater Madison
James Tye Clean Lakes Alliance
Lyle Updike Town of Sun Prairie
Donna Walker* Alliant Energy
William White* WhiteFish Partners
Dan White Filament Games
Tom Wilson Town of Westport & Madison Metro Sewerage District
Gary Wolter* Madison Gas & Electric
Phillip Yang Wisconsin Hmong Association
Alex Ysquierdo Associated Bank